Friday Finds

Hello and happy Friday! After what has felt like a molasses paced week, we have finally made it to Friday! The only downside is that after taking an intense Pilates and yoga mix of classes this week, my arms are so sore that I can’t raise them over my head. Let’s hope this weekend doesn’t call for any high fiving, waving, or a 90’s throwback dance party where I am called to “raise the roof”. Thankfully all activities I have planned for this weekend involve very little arm movement. Tonight Jake and I are going to the opening of the Grapevine Craft Brewery that is opening in, well, Grapevine! Tonight they’ll be having live music, food trucks, and of course, beer. I’m really excited to try their selection, and watch Jake geek out over beer. I don’t know anything about beer except that there is alcohol in it, so maybe I’ll learn something tonight. Who knows?! Tomorrow and Sunday I have two different races lined up. Saturday I’ll be running the Sweat for Sangria 5k in Southlake, where after the race we’ll be treated to sangria and pizza! It’s a social run, so I’m thinking it will be a smaller group of people, which I normally prefer for 5ks (less tripping over people)! Then on Sunday I am running the Too Hot to Handle 5k  in Dallas! This will be my third year running this race and I am super pumped because this race normally gives out tank tops rather than t-shirts. A weird thing to be pumped about, but hey it doesn’t take much for me. Expect to see some race recaps on those come Monday, but in the mean time, let’s review some Friday Finds!

  • Breakfast Smoothies

smoothie edit

You may recall a couple months ago when I posted about my holy grail breakfast staple, but this week I changed things up a bit. After getting a little tired of eggs every morning, I thought I’d switch it up to a smoothie! I swap out the fruit every now and then, but here’s what I’ve been sticking to this week:

  • 1 whole banana (sliced)
  • 1 cup of strawberries (sliced)
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups of  unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 3 tablespoons ground flax seed meal
  • 3 tablespoons chia seeds

Don’t let the flax seed meal and chia seeds throw you off! When blended it all tastes very “breakfast-y” and delicious! I’m also crediting the flax seed meal for keep me full until lunch time. I haven’t heard a growl from my stomach from the hours of 6 am to when I normally take lunch at 11 am!

  • Cucumber Noodle Spaghetti

cucumber spaghetti edit

Wow this is a food heavy Friday Finds this week! Last night I thought I’d get a little creative with my dinner and get my fair share of vegetables in, and whipped up some cucumber noodle spaghetti! It was super simple and I was able to multi-task the cooking with preparing my lunch for today. Here’s what I used:

  • One whole cucumber, sliced thinly as possibly. If you have a mandolin slicer, use that because you are fancy and it works better.
  • Favorite pasta sauce
  • Chopped garlic
  • A sprig of arugula as a garnish to make it look like I’ve done this before.

I cooked the noodles, sauce, and garlic on a saucepan at medium heat for about 10-15 minutes. I wanted to make the cucumber noodles as a soft as possible so I could achieve the fork twirl effect I would normally get with pasta spaghetti, and it worked! I super recommend this if haven’t tried it out already. It was so much fun to make, and is a carb friendly option to regular spaghetti!

  • New hairbrush

brush new edit

Normally I don’t care much about hairbrushes, they all do the same thing for me, but good lord did I need a new one. I’ve been rocking my Wet Brush for nearly two years now, and while I love it, it is prone to getting fuzz and other junk in it (which is not coming from my hair, leading me to believe my cats use it when I’m not around), and it is near impossible to get out. That being said, I parused Amazon the other day for a new brush, and stumbled upon the Oval Wood Bristle Brush by Bass Brushes. It is made from 100% bamboo (sorry pandas), and the wooden bristles are supposed to help stimulate your scalp and promote hair growth. That last part may be a bunch of black magic nonsense, but I will say the bristles feel a lot like a head massage, so I am loving it!

  • Cold Brew Coffee

starbucks cold brew coffee

Okay this one isn’t so much a “find” as it is a “I super want to try this!” I read that Starbucks recently released cold brew coffee on their menus, and after reading up on the taste and benefits of cold brew coffee, I really want to try it! What makes cold brew different from regular coffee? Well according this article from the Washington Post:

…the cold-brew process swaps piping hot water for room-temperature water, and requires grounds to steep for up to 24 hours.

What results is a batch of coffee — which can be served iced or heated — that’s much less bitter than coffee brewed the traditional way. According to a study conducted by Intertek in 2005, cold-brewed coffee contains about 65 percent less acidity than coffee brewed in hot water, making it a viable alternative for sensitive stomachs.

I have normally had to be careful with coffee in the past due to it upsetting my stomach, so this sounds like the perfect match for me! I’m hoping to swing by Starbucks tomorrow morning and give this a go, but I also read that the brewery Jake and I are visiting tonight makes their own as well! If I can get my hands on some tonight, and try out Starbucks this weekend, I’ll be sure to fill you all in on a compare and contrast! Have any of you tried cold brew coffee? Was it good? Did it ruin your life?

That’s it for this week! Also, you may have noticed I didn’t have a book to review this week’s post. I am taking my time on Aziz Ansari’s “Modern Romance” because I am anxiously awaiting the arrival of Harper Lee’s ‘Go Set A Watchmen’ this coming week! You can for sure expect a review on that one! Well, I’m off to go try some craft beer and food truck tacos. I hope you all have an awesome weekend and I’ll catch up with you Monday!

Signature

Leave a Reply

