Friday Finds

Hello and happy Friday! I hope you all are enjoying a lovely day off for the Fourth of July weekend. My day has been go-go-go since I woke up! I had a doctor’s appointment at 7:30 am, walked the dog with my Dad, went to the grocery store, and then went to the gym! Whew. I’m already exhausted and it’s not even 1 pm. Given that it I am minutes from crashing, and it’s a holiday weekend, I thought I’d keep today’s Friday Finds post a little short. It also works out that I don’t have a new book to share this week because I am still reading Aziz Ansari’s ‘Modern Romance’. I think being in Austin last weekend set me back on my reading, but hopefully I can finish it in the next couple of days! Until then, let’s recap some favorites from this week!

  • Blogilates 30 Days & 30 Stretches to the Splits Challenge

Journey-to-Splits-Square

Confession time. I cannot do the splits, and it’s always been a silly life goal of mine to finally be able to do them. So when I stumbled upon Cassey Ho’s latest Blogilates challenge, I took it as a sign to finally buckle down, and get down…to the floor. I’d like to think that a year and some change of consistent yoga practice would give me the leg up (pun intended) on the challenge, but after trying out some of the more difficult stretches (Hello #10!), I was brought back down to earth and realized I had some work to do. Granted I’m only three days in, but I really am going to do my best to practice every day! According to Cassey, you only need to practice a selection of stretches 10 minutes day, and by day 30 you should basically be a pair of scissors. We’ll see how this goes!

  • Blue Apron

Blue Apron

My first Blue Apron box arrived today! After months of debating whether I should try the food service or not, I got my hands on a sweet coupon deal and decided to give it a go! Blue Apron is essentially is a super convenient, and super snazzy way of bringing fresh food right to your door, already portioned and organized for three different meals – instructions and recipe included! My box included the ingredients and recipe for:

  • Black Bean and Red Quinoa Enchiladas with Salsa Verde
  • Grilled Cheeseburgers with Feta-Watermelon Salad & Pickled Watermelon Rind
  • Crispy Fried Chicken with Kale-Cabbage Slaw & Buttermilk Biscuits

I’m thinking I am going to make the fried chicken tonight, and the burgers tomorrow for 4th of July! I am so excited to try this out, and I’ll be sure to share my results with you all next week!

  • Bubba Keg Water Bottle

Bubba Keg

I don’t know what it is that water bottles have against me, but I constantly either having one warped in the dishwasher, losing a lid, or they end up cracking. After reading PBF’s post last week about her rediscovering the Bubba Keg, I thought I’d order myself one in order to A) Have an indestructible water bottle and B) Make it easier to fill my water intake for the day! My Bubba Keg (II have casually been referring to been mine as “Cali Park Bubba Sparxxx”) tops off at 32 oz, so drinking three of these at work is a breeze and a great way to make sure I’m getting enough water I need for the day. It is top heavy as hell, but thankfully fits into my car cup holder. Oh Bubba Keg, I think you are going to be my new summer favorite.

That’s it for this week! I’m off to go start cooking my first Blue Apron meal, and then tomorrow Jake and I are going to see Dashboard Confessional and Third Eye Blind in concert! It will be a throwback for sure. I hope you all have a super fun and safe Fourth of July Weekend, and I’ll catch ya Monday!

Signature

Leave a Reply

