DIY Nutrient Bowl

Hello and happy Wednesday! Last night I realized it has been well over a couple of months since I shared a meal plan recipe, and I happened upon a new dish yesterday that I prepared for lunch today and I may never go back to anything else. It’s crazy simple, and crazy filling. What is it exactly? A nutrient bowl! I drew inspiration from a post I found on the Graze Box blog, and tweaked it a little to better accommodate what I already had in the fridge. The nutrient bowl is based on six parts: a base, slow carbs, a protein, veggies, healthy fats, and a fruit. It may seem like an outrageous assortment of foods, and it is, but it does a great job of filling up on the nutrients (aha!) you need for the day, and is super quick the night or morning before work or school!

nutrient bowl

Here is what all I used in my nutrient bowl. Feel free to get creative with your own! The more colorful the better.

  • Base
    • Baby spinach (washed, and uncooked)
  • Slow carb
    • Wild rice (leftover from dinner! +10 recycle points for me)
  • Protein
    • Spicy black bean burger (cooked, and then crumbled into bowl)
  • Veggies
    • Sliced cucumber
    • Diced red and green bell peppers
  • Healthy fats
    • Drizzle of olive oil
    • Diced avocado
  • Fruit
    • Strawberries (opted for frozen so some of the juice could melt into the bowl and act as a dressing)
  • Extra
    • Juice of half a lemon

See what I said about it being super simple? Given that I already had the ingredients available, putting this together took me upwards of ten minutes. This may be my meal prep for the rest of summer, so look out for more nutrient bowl creations in the coming months! Hope you all have a great day and let me know if you give this a try!

Signature

5 thoughts on “DIY Nutrient Bowl

Leave a Reply

