Equality, Sandwiches & Keeping Austin Weird.

Hello and happy Monday! For some reason today does not feel like a Monday at all. I woke up thinking it was Saturday and upon realizing that my alarm was not a mistake and it was in fact Monday, I was obviously quite upset.

shark farts

I had a super awesome weekend and now I have to trudge through the work week again, but good news is that I have Friday off for the Fourth of July weekend. Thanks America! Speaking of America, a round of applause for legalizing gay marriage this past Friday!

y-all-means-all-t-shirt_design

Side note, up until Friday I was not aware that there were other color schemes used in the LGBTQ community! If you’d like to learn about the colors and symbols used in the community I highly recommended this resource. And while I respect other’s opinions and beliefs, I’d ask that you refrain from commenting on any opposing views on this matter. I’ve seen enough nonsensical trash on my Facebook news feed of people who are genuinely offended by this, and quite frankly I don’t want to invite opportunity to share something hateful for such a positive and amazing event. If I wanted to hear something hateful or ridiculous I’d watch a Real Housewives reunion.

Shifting gears a bit, let’s recap more cool stuff from this weekend, but more specifically the Keep Austin Weird 5k! Some of you may remember that Jake and I participated in this event last year and had a blast! This 5k/festival has been going on for 13 years now, and always brings out the electic people of Austin with costumes, bubbles, and of course, booze. Jake and I got into Austin Friday evening and thankfully his sister and brother-in-law were kind enough to let us stay at their house for the weekend since they live just outside of Austin! The race started at 7 pm Saturday so we agreed that much like last year we would walk the route since it was already crazy humid outside.

uklele

The first stop was for Deep Eddy Vodka, but just like last year the line was so long we had to skip it and move on to the next. We did happen upon the Ukulele Society of Austin, and they were adorable and wonderful and I think Jake wants to join their band now.

walkers

The above photo was probably my favorite duo of the evening. A father walked/ran whilst playing his guitar along side his son who was clearly taking it well. We also saw families dressed as Pac Man characters, friends decked out as Mario Kart racers, and even one dude wearing an adult diaper!

new belgium

While didn’t get our hands on any vodka, we did get to sample an IPA from New Belgium, and you guys know I’m not a beer fan, but this stuff was pretty good! I wasn’t able to get a photo, but the stop before the beer was the incredible and amazing Amy’s Ice Cream, and while my allegiance still lies with Blue Bell (#babycomeback), I will say their vanilla ice cream is comparable to an all expenses paid trip to Hawaii. I don’t know who Amy is, but I do know that she is brilliant and I would like for her to officiate my wedding.

Now my only complaint is the lack of obstacle courses and shots stations. Last year there was a mini webbed course, and I got two different shots! I feel silly complaining because even without those things it was an awesome time, but I think we can all agree that obstacle courses and shots can take anything from 0 to 100, am I right?

TC

After the race Jake and I booked it straight to Thundercloud Subs. I have not had Thundercloud in about five years, but I bring it up in conversation at least once a month and I have missed it dearly. Thundercloud is an Austin classic and they are best subs of all time. Yeah, you heard me. I ate mine in what felt like one breath, but it was amazing and I promise myself never will I deprive myself of the sandwich masterpiece for so long ever again. If you ever get the chance to go, order the New York Italian with the Thunder sauce. You won’t regret it, but if you don’t like it just send whatever you have left over to me.

I need to go make myself a sandwich now. Anyone got a recipe for that Thunder Sauce? Anyone? Oh well. That’s all for Monday! I’m hoping tomorrow I can get my July Stitch Fix review up so look out for that! Have a great day!

Signature

Leave a Reply

