Friday Finds

*Wordpress decided to be awesome yet again and not publish a post that I had post dated on Friday. Thankfully, I was able to retrieve the post this time! Ugh, just pretend it’s Friday!

Hello and happy Friday! Today is National Donut Day, and I’m hoping that I’ll be able to celebrate after work with a trip to Dunkin’ Donuts! I don’t eat donuts often, but if it involves a holiday, I am down. Especially given that I celebrated National Running Day this week, I think continuing with the theme of unofficial American holidays is of utmost importance. Aside from pastry festivities, I have a relatively low key weekend planned. Tomorrow morning I’ll be running the (rescheduled) T.A.P. 5K, and then mayyyybe heading over to yoga workshop in the afternoon, but that’s still up in the air. The weather is supposed to be nice so I’m hoping to spend a lot of time outside! Until then, let’s recap some of my favorite jamz from this past week. I’m happy to say that “Not A Favorite: Rain” will not be listed!

  • Braum’s Ice Cream

braums

Last weekend my family and Jake and I ventured to the 1992 time portal that is Braum’s. If you are not in the Oklahoma-Texas area, Braum’s is an ice cream shop that has not updated it’s design or commercials since the early 90’s. I’m not sure if it’s because they don’t have the budget, or because that’s just their aesthetic, but I love it. It’s just good old fashioned ice cream without any frills or fancy techniques, and they have the best chocolate shakes (Sorry DQ) in the history of the world. Braum’s also has a small market inside, so it’s great if you want to pick up a double scoop cone and bacon!

  • Squeaky Cheeks Body & Foot Powder

powder

You remember a shout out to this product in a Stride Box review  that I did a couple of months ago. Squeaky Cheeks is essentially a multi-purpose powder targeted at eliminating all of the gross stuff your body produces (odor, sweat, chafing), and while I think it is primarily meant for applying before a workout, I’ve been loving dusting it onto my feet before I put on my flats for work! Shoes make your feet smell bad, but flats makes your feet smell like you went grape stomping in hot garbage. Applying this stuff does the job, plus it lasts all day, and I’ve noticed even helps keep my feet dry during my evening hot yoga classes! Feel free to check out their website and peruse through their different options!

  • Mallory’s Book of The Week – The Rocks by Peter Nichols

the rocks

I’m gonna be straight up with you, I’m like 50+ pages into this book and I still have no idea what it’s about. From what I gathered there are a lot of flashback sequences, and it somehow has to do with Greece. According to Good Reads, the actually plot goes as:

Set against dramatic Mediterranean Sea views and lush olive groves, The Rocks opens with a confrontation and a secret: What was the mysterious, catastrophic event that drove two honeymooners apart so suddenly and absolutely in 1948 that they never spoke again despite living on the same island for sixty more years? And how did their history shape the Romeo and Juliet–like romance of their (unrelated) children decades later? Centered around a popular seaside resort club and its community, The Rocks is a double love story that begins with a mystery, then moves backward in time, era by era, to unravel what really happened decades earlier.

Sure. I’ll allow the fact that I am still in the super early stages of this book, but color me confused y’all because I have no idea what is going on. Good Reads gave it 3 1/2 stars, and I’ve read nothing but good reviews, so I assume it will pick up soon and I can jump on the bandwagon and love it too. Maybe I’m still riding the high from my last book and still can’t see anything else, but I’m not giving up!

  • Not a favorite: My Facebook news feed

I understand that this is a free country and we are wonderfully entitled to our own opinion, but if your opinion is hateful, ignorant, and downright tacky, I don’t want to hear it. As you already know, the Caitlyn Jenner Vanity Fair reveal was everywhere, and with that came everyone’s opinions. Personally I don’t think any of our opinions matter on this subject because:

  1. It’s not our body, it’s hers.
  2. She’s just living her life, and this has nothing to do with you!

I have seen so much garbage on my news feed with people voicing their concerns from how this either not an act of heroism, or still continuing to use incorrect pronouns. It is a mess. Let’s just be cool and kind to each other instead, okay?

That’s it for this week, my friends! I hope you all have a great weekend! I shall catch you Monday with a race recap, and I’m hoping to squeeze in a Stitch Fix unboxing on Tuesday or Wednesday before I leave for California next Thursday. See ya then!

Signature

One thought on “Friday Finds

  1. coffeegrounded

    Thank you for your insight, your tolerance and gifting the world with knowledge that is power. Caitlin Jenner is a human being for God’s sake! Folks have no idea what this woman has gone thru on her victory to claim her right to be the very best that she can be!

    I hate that the judging has begun. Grow up people; get a life, and while you’re at it, read up on genetics, predispositions and environmental conditioning. Do you really think this woman is on a joy ride? She is going thru such psychological and physiological adjustments it would make your head spin, if you had one.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

