Coconutz

Hello and happy Tuesday! While I didn’t acknowledge it yesterday, I guess I’ll go ahead and acknowledge it today, it’s officially June! After what feels like a never ending high school production of Water World, the rain is free from the forecast and it is finally starting to feel like summer! Now that summer is here, (and given that it’s Texas it will be here well into October), I am breaking out my handy dandy holy grail product for the season, coconut oil! Now before you roll your eyes, and call me a jam band following granola eating weirdo, hear me out. Yes, I realize coconut oil enthusiasts normally seem to be popular amongst the “Grass fed only plz” or that girl on Facebook who won’t quit posting about essential oil diffusers (*cough*PYRAMID SCHEME*cough*), but I gotta admit this stuff is the real deal. I seem to fall back on it every summer (I usually switch over to something less tropical smelling in the winter), and aside from trying to explain to people why I keep a jar of cooking oil in my bathroom, I can’t complain! Here’s a few of the uses I’ve come across:

co

  • Makeup remover
    • Slather a dime size amount on to your face and massage into your skin until your makeup starts to melt off like Jeff Goldblum’s face in The Fly, and then rinse off with a warm washcloth!
  • Night time moisturizer
    • This stuff if a little too heavy to wear underneath makeup during the day, but it works great as a night time moisturizer, plus it helps hydrate your eyelashes!
  • Oil pulling method
    • This one is super disgusting, and takes some getting used to, but I’ve doing it for about a month now and have really¬†noticed a difference in my teeth sensitivity. This post goes a little more in depth, but essentially the oil pulling method involves swishing coconut oil around in your mouth for about 15-20 minutes and has a lot of supposed benefits, but I mainly practice it as a means of protecting my teeth. I’m the old man who can’t ice cream without grabbing my jaw and cursing until the pain subsides, so I’ll take all the help I can get.
  • Sunburn relief
    • While the cooling sensation of aloe vera gel is nice, but I personally feel as if coconut oil does a way better job of alleviating sun burns. I say this because aloe vera dries on my skin in what feels like 10 seconds, and when my skin is dry and cracking open like a GD earthquake, I don’t feel like having to reapply product multiple times throughout the day. Coconut oil takes it time when absorbing into the skin, and plus it smells like nice and takes away from the fact that your skin feels like a scuba suit on fire.
  • Hair Masque
    • Melt a tablespoon of coconut oil, a tablespoon of honey, and let sit it in your hair for an hour. Thank me later.

Those are just a few i have come across, but given the versatility of this oil I’m sure I am bound to find several more uses along the way. Feel free to share any uses you’ve found with coconut oil in the comments. +10 points to anyone who actually uses it for cooking, like you’re supposed to.

Signature

One thought on “Coconutz

  1. coffeegrounded

    Years ago I would have encouraged folks to use it as a suntan lotion, but in this day and age we have become acutely aware of the dangers of skin cancer. Best that we use a high powered SPF sunscreen and apply this later in the day after a day in the sun.

    ( I love the smell! Coppertone realized they had the smell of the tropics in a bottle and made tons of $$$ keeping us sun worshippers hypnotized by the scent long before they added SPF’s to their product. Reapply, reapply and reapply! Keep your skin safe.)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

