George Clooney, Caffeine Crashes, and Running Underwater.

Hello and happy Tuesday! Sorry for the lack of a post yesterday! After returning from my Grandparents yesterday evening our power went out, and stayed that way for hours. By the time it did kick back on it was late in the evening and I was about a half hour away from going to bed. This whole weekend we bounced from tornado to flood watches, and needless to say, all activities remained indoors this Memorial day weekend!

  • Friday

TomorrowLand

Friday after work Jake and I ventured to Alamo Drafthouse to see the new Disney movie, Tomorrowland. Alamo had crafted up a new themed menu for the film, which is one of the million reasons why they are coolest movie theater ever. I opted for “The Bright Future”, and it was wonderful! As for the movie, it was kinda meh. It was a pleasant surprise seeing Hugh Laurie though. I am still conditioned to only see him walk with a limp and sneer insults in everyone’s face, so it took me a minute to disengage from the fact he is not in fact Dr. House, but rather an actor with a job. This movie also stars that one doctor from E.R. who is now married a to a lawyer.

  • Saturday

I woke up early Saturday for a run, and was hoping to log eight miles until I ran into this.

River

Not only did this cause a detour, but on my way back, it began POURING. At one point it was raining so hard that I had to keep my head down, which in turn caused me to miss the street I was supposed to turn on, and I ended up about mile from where I started originally. All in all I logged a little over five miles, and about a gallon of water in my shoes.

the-skeleton-twins

Later in the day Jake and I picked up ingredients for Memorial Day Popsicles, (check the recipe later this week!) and took in a viewing of The Skeleton Twins, starring my two favorite people Kristen Wiig and Bill Hader. Unfortunately the movie was about as riveting as lukewarm bath water, but I’m just going to chalk it up to lazy writing, because I felt like the story had a lot of potential, but it just fell flat in a lot of places. I think Kristen has proved time and time again that she can play flawed and jaded (Bridesmaids, Girl Most Likely…Target Lady), and while I enjoy seeing female roles that aren’t always the “I only care about my job but I’m looking for love!” tropes, I think I’m just ready to see her branch out into other dynamics. I thought Bill Hader did a really great job as the brother counterpart to Kristen, who’s character hints at a routine liar, and someone who can’t quite ease up on the white knuckle grip they have on their glory days. All in all, solid performances, but just lackluster story telling.

  • Sunday

Sunday was the laziest of days, which began with a Corner Bakery, and then my first ever trip to Dunkin’ Donuts!

DunkinDonuts

I played it pretty simple and ordered an iced coffee with almond milk, no sweetener. It tasted great, but unfortunately not even hour later I experienced what felt like a sugar crash, and felt weird the rest of the day. My mom thinks it might be the caffeine levels in DD coffee, and the fact that I am still relatively new to coffee drinking as well. I am not giving up on DD yet though. I may try out again over the weekend, but in a smaller size and see if that helps. Try as I might, I am going to be a coffee drinker!

Before my caffeine shakes really set in, I made it to the gym for a quick workout since I knew it would be closed for Memorial Day. Jake had to work that evening, so I spent my night watching YDAD videos (I pre-ordered Mamrie’s book months ago, and it is set to arrive today!!), and reading Liane Moriarty’s Three Wishes. I was able to wrap up the book last night and was pleasantly surprised with the twists that were thrown in the middle, and how it neatly wrapped up at the end. Sometimes you just need a breezy read where all the character’s problems are resolved at the end, and Moriarty delivered just that. I imagine I’ll be reading more of her work in the future when my own life gets stressful and I need someone to pull it together by page 300.

That was my weekend! I thought about throwing in a Monday/Memorial Day recap, but the bulk of the day was spent at my grandparents, or in the dark reading due to the power outage. Thrilling! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend, and I will be back tomorrow, assuming the power doesn’t go out again and I have to spend another evening cosplaying as Laura Ingalls Wilder.

Signature

5 thoughts on “George Clooney, Caffeine Crashes, and Running Underwater.

  1. coffeegrounded

    Reblogged this on CoffeeGrounded's Blog and commented:
    I know this writer, she’s funny to the bone. Growing up she always said, “One day I’ll be a writer for SNL.”

    She and her sister are book addicts, but a 12-Step program is the last thing they need.

    Her sister grew up saying this, “One day I want to live in a cardboard box on the street.”

    Thankfully, neither one of them live inside a cardboard built villa. I’m pretty sure Jeff Beso’s castle has a turret they funded, though.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

