Friday Finds

Happy Friday, and happy Memorial weekend to all of you! I feel like it was an usually long stretch to reaching Friday, and yesterday was a series of minor annoyances that really had me ready to Tokyo drift out of the work parking lot and start my weekend. Yesterday I had the following trivial grievances happen to me:

  • My cat woke me up an hour before my alarm.
  • Screwed up my eye makeup and had to start over.
  • Dropped the lid to my glass Starbucks coffee cup and it shattered.
  • It rained…AGAIN.

Again, all small and dumb things, oh and not to mention I don’t even know how to drift my car, so I couldn’t even do that when I left work (kidding, mom). Oh well, at least today is Friday and I can have an extended to mourn the loss of my coffee cup relax, and I can review some of my favorites from this week!

  • Faerie Organic Mineral Makeup

Processed with Moldiv

I know I swore up and down in previous posts, that I was all about Boscia BB Cream and I would never leave it and blah blah blah, but wouldn’t you know it that I started breaking out again, and I think liquid makeup was the culprit. I had tried out Faerie Organic mineral makeup last summer, and really loved it, but given that I am a product junkie, I quickly moved on to something else and forgot about it. I received my order this week, and have been LOVING it. The coverage is amazing, and especially for someone who has stupid acne scarring (thanks 7th grade hormones!), I need all that I can get. I also love this brand because they are free from harmful chemicals, and do not test on animals! I will say shipping took a bit of time (7 days), but it was worth the wait. I also received a sample of their blush, bronzer, and mineral veil and those have proven to be stellar as well!

  • DIY Makeup Setting Spray/Calming Toner

Setting Spray

Keeping with the makeup theme today, I’ve also recently recycled an old Urban Decay spray bottle for my own homemade makeup setting spray! I may do a more in depth post on this later, but essentially all I did was brew some Sleepy Time tea, water it down a bit, and fill the bottle. I opted for Sleepytime/Chamomile tea since my skin normally experiences a lot of redness, and chamomile is extremely helpful at reducing irritation and inflammation. I’ll spray this on after washing my face, and then again (lightly) after applying my makeup. Granted I do not wear a lot of makeup, but for what I do have on my face, I feel like this little mix has done a great job locking in the product all day!

  • Mallory’s Book of The Week – Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty

Three Wishes

Okay, it took me more time to complete last week’s book than I had anticipated, but I picked up (or downloaded rather) this one last night and got about thirty or so pages in, and I can already tell that I’ll probably whiz through it this weekend! I say I’ll complete it so soon because it opens up on a twist, so now I’m already dying to know what happened, plus I’ve already laughed out loud at the dialogue. The book follows sister triplets (is that the correct way to put it? I mean they are obviously all sisters…) on their 34th birthday party, and the drama surrounding, before, during, and after the event. I was sold when I read a review that it was about a comedy about a dysfunctional family. Given that I’m only a few pages in, I don’t think it’s fair to give this a huge review right now, so I may touch on that later this week, but I didn’t want anyone to think I’ve lagged on my self inflicted book a week program!

  • Not a favorite: Rain

For starters this one doesn’t get a photo because it doesn’t deserve one. I am SO sick of the rain! Normally this time of year Texas is in summer mode, and I have put away my cardigans (psyche just kidding I wear one everyday to work) and rain jackets and let them collect dust until October (sometimes November. Sometimes December. Welcome to Texas), but instead it has rained almost every day for weeks, and it shows no sign of stopping. So far the rain has post-poned two of my trail races, and a movie in the park my town was hosting, and it has altered my running route on the weekends. So needless to say, this has impacted my life in every possible way. Listen, if I wanted rain everyday I would move to Seattle, but quite frankly I’m not cool enough, and my Eddie Vedder impression is kind of offensive. Texas, please stop raining, be the dry wasteland I know that you can be!

And that’s a wrap! I hope you all have a great weekend, and a lovely Memorial day! I shall see you Monday with a weekend recap that I’m sure will include more rain complaints!

Signature

Leave a Reply

