Friday Finds

Crossing my fingers we don’t have a screw up last week, and this Friday Finds actually posts this time. Oh technology, so efficient, yet so unreliable. Anyways, I am super pumped that it’s Friday because after work starts a weekend full of activities! Tonight Jake and I are going to see Dave Matthews Band (weather permitting), and then tomorrow we are participating in the Bubble Run 5k, and then Main Street Days. For anyone unfamiliar with Main Street Days, it is carnival held in my town, and in the words of Donna and Tom…

parks and rec gif

I freakin’ love carnivals, plus this one has a craft brew fest which is basically a day care drop off for boyfriends. I’m really hoping it doesn’t rain because I’ve been looking forward to riding the busted ferris wheel and making Jake reenact this photo.

Jake & I

The only downside of this weekend is that I had a 10k trail race lined up for Sunday, but that was canceled yesterday due to potential flash floods. I’m also supposed to be seeing St. Vincent on Sunday night, but given the way the weather is looking, I’m not sure if that’s going to happen. We shall see! I’ll just have to hope for the best, but in the mean time, let’s review this week’s favorites!

  • Yogi Detox Tea

Yogi Detox Tea

I picked up this tea at Target this weekend, and have really been enjoying it! I am huge fan of Yogi teas, and strangely enough have yet to try this particular flavor. According to the box this tea is to assist with the cleansing of the liver and kidneys, and is flavored with ginger, black Pepper, long Pepper (not sure what that is, but okay!) and Indian Sarsaparilla. Normally I do not seek out spice oriented teas, but I find this tea to be pretty balance between smooth and spicy. In terms of “detoxing” I haven’t really noticed a difference in anything, but I’m assuming my liver and kidneys are loving. You’re welcome, organs.

  • Mallory’s Book of The Week – Incendiary by Chris Cleave

Incendiary

I picked a real downer for this week’s read, but while gut wrenching, has been hard to put down. The story is formatted as woman’s letter to Osama bin Laden, after her husband and son are killed in a massive suicide bomb attack at a London soccer game. I will say, this book is wrought with grotesque imagery, and following this woman’s grief can be difficult. What’s more, is that this woman is not a perfect person, and I’ve found instances where I feel conflicted rooting for her character because she will routinely fall into destructive habits despite already knowing the consequences. Granted I still have half of the book left to read, but grappling with how I feel about her character has made the book more of a page turner.  I recently learned that this book was adapted into a film starring Michelle Williams, so if I am not emotionally decimated after completing this book, I may check out the movie.

  • This news

Azeem

So apparently this guy’s flute recital FB announcement blew up in Britain and he has become an internet sensation. I feel like the internet can make something out of nothing, but I love that this unassuming flutist now has over a million attendees for a performance hall that apparently only seats 100. You go, Azeem.

Yikes, what a short list. I apologize for being a snooze fest this week. I suppose that’s what I get for only leaving my house to go to the gym or work. I do have some exciting things cooking for next week including a race recap, and hopefully a few reviews! Until then, let’s settle for this Grandma post where all I did was drink tea and read. So glad I’m utilizing my early 20’s to the best of my potential! Well you guys have a great weekend, I hope rain doesn’t deter you from any of your weekend adventures! See ya Monday!

One thought on “Friday Finds

  1. coffeegrounded

    You go girl! It has been a slosh of a week. Party safely and be careful of those carneys’…be sure all their digits are in place, and if not, move on to the next ride.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

