#tbt

Hello, and welcome to the first ever edition of #tbt, where I capitalize on the Throwback Thursday trend made popular on Instagram, and make a mockery of my childhood photos. Will this be a regular thing? Who knows. What I do know is that I didn’t have anything to write about today, so maybe this is the beginning of a weekly post, or the first and last time I try this! For this first edition, let’s venture to a time where I had yet to discover the powers possessed by modern orthodontics, and apparently thought holding my hand to an electricity ball at a science museum, would be the best way to style my hair. So, with that I bring you my 3rd grade school photo.

IMG_1440

OOTD:

  • Eskimo Joe’s t-shirt
  • (not pictured) denim shorts with an elastic waistband.
  • (not pictured) ankle high white socks with a lace trim, most likely paired with tennis shoes

Hair:

  • Mom

Makeup:

  • Carmindy from What Not to Wear.
  • Just kidding I was eight.

What I love most about this photo is that I probably walked away thinking that I totally nailed it, as I did with most school photos until I would look at them years later and quickly gather them in highly flammable material and hope for the best. I also love that I grew up during a time where glamour shots were super cool, most girls, even at elementary school age would show up for picture day like it was a casting call for Toddlers and Tiaras, and I just rolled up with my hair in six different directions, an obvious disregard that this photo would be in print, and was like, “Let’s do this.” Oh, eight year old Mallory, if you only could have bottled that confidence and sold it to the world!

Signature

One thought on “#tbt

  1. coffeegrounded

    You nailed it, the confidence thing. While others were trying to Jones one another, you were content to be yourself. I was, and am proud of that admirable trait. You should be too. Why follow the crowd when you can blaze your own trail?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

