Organization Station

Yikes! I’m so sorry about missing a post yesterday! I have been so good with routinely posting between Monday-Friday, but let’s just say Chipotle betrayed me last night and I spent most of my evening in the fetal position and trying to my breathe my way through the “Oh god I’m gonna throw up” thoughts. Chipotle, I trusted you. That being said, I started writing this post Monday night, with the intentions of completing it Tuesday evening, so for the sake of me not completely re-writing this, let’s just pretend this went up yesterday! Thanks for understanding, and eat your burritos with caution!

Organization Station

Last night I went to Target and bought a new planner, and my excitement was comparable to that of the kid that loses his mind over receiving an N64 for Christmas.

n64

I don’t know why it is so exciting for me to write down, “Work 7:30am-4:30pm” in the Monday through Friday slots, but it is. My irrational excitement over writing down my work schedule and race dates last night got me thinking that I could share a few of my organizational tips that I’ve gathered stolen from Erin Condren over the years! While I am not a Container Store employee, or a life coach, I have been told several times that the cleanliness of my desk is on a 8 if using the scale of “1 to American Psycho”, and my use of a planner is both inspiring, and concerning. Let’s get organized, y’all.

planner

This is the most “bloggerish” photo I have ever taken, and I am so proud.

The night before:

  • Make your lunch! I’ve been making my lunch since the fourth grade (partly because my elementary school only served milk as a beverage, and I HATE milk. Jokes on me, I have tissue paper for bones now). Not sure what to make? Check out Pinterest for meal prep ideas, or be like me when you forget to meal prep, and make your lunch a potpourri of garbage from the fridge you don’t know what to do with. Carrot sticks and salsa? Okay!
  • Plan your outfit. As much as I wish I had the program Cher from Clueless (#styleicon) had for picking out clothes, I don’t, so I have to settle for my own creativity and pick out clothes myself. I find choosing an outfit the night before eliminates the waste of time of me trying on five different tops in the morning, when I could have easily spent that time sneaking in 15 minutes of Bob’s Burgers before I have to leave for work.
  • Charge it. Plug in your phone, laptop, iPad, car, your brain (robots only), before you head off to bed so it’s fully charged and ready to go before you head out the door. Bonus points if you have a car charger, or one you keep at your desk.
  • Cross it off you’re list. If you keep a planner or to-do list handy, go over it at the end of the day and make sure you’ve accomplished everything you set out to do. Nothing feels better than striking a line through “find a way to take carbs out of bread, and then marry Jude Law.”

In the morning:

  • In the words of my Dad, “Have everything you need? Need everything you got?” Make sure you have all of your junk with you before you step out the door? Phone? Check. Wallet? Check. Water bottle? Check. A DVD copy of Passport Paris? What, what? Check.
  • Write out your to-do list for the day! I write mine in my planner, and for work related tasks, I keep a sticky note at my desk.

At your desk:

  • Do yourself a favor and wipe down your desk. There’s always one sick person that sits by you, and by the end of the week all of you have fallen victim to your gross neighbor’s cold. Use a disinfectant wipe on your desk surface, keyboard, and mouse to eliminate the germs. Yes you’ll look a psychopath cleaning your desk every morning, but at least you don’t have the flu!
  • The best advice I’ve ever been given (which is was more of a threat really. Thanks Mr. L.) was “If you’re early, you’re on time. If you’re on time, you’re late. If you’re late, you’re screwed.” Do yourself a favor and get to work (or class!) 15-20 minutes early so you can get situated, knock out some e-mails, and check the Yahoo Entertainment gossip section before you officially have to clock in.
  • Unless it’s integral to your work, keep your phone out of eyesight. I know, I want to check Instagram every fifteen minutes too, but also I want to pay off my student loans before I’m 90. Get to work!

It’s a pretty basic list, but hopefully it brought a little organization inspiration into your life! Also, I’m in the midst of wrapping up my latest Stitch Fix review, so unless Chipotle has some sort of time released venom and it ruins me again, I’ll hopefully have that up tomorrow!

Signature

One thought on “Organization Station

Leave a Reply

