Friday Finds

Hello, and happy Friday! It’s currently bleak and dreary outside, but I don’t care because the work week is over! I don’t have anything planned for tonight, other than possibly watching Nightcrawler because I’ve been meaning to watch it for months. Jake Gyllenhaal as a vigilante detective? Um, OKAY. Speaking of watching things on Friday nights, you know what I wish was still around?

giphy

I remember the Sabrina, Boy Meets World, and Two of a Kind lineup and it was basically what I lived for week to week. Honestly they could just #tbt this and replay that lineup every Friday night and I’d be into it. Now it’s known as “ABC Comedy Friday” or “Dumb Garbage” as I like to put it. No one cares about Shark Tank (except Mark Cuban), ABC! Bring back Step by Step, I miss that ridiculous theme park intro. Okay I need to stop reminiscing about the glory days of 90’s family sitcoms. Let’s switch gears and recap this week’s Friday Finds instead!

  • Honey by Marc Jacobs

Honey

This was actually my go to perfume for most of 2013, until I discovered a coconut vanilla scent I found at Sprout’s (grocery store perfume, anyone?), and forgot about it. I picked up this perfume again earlier this week and have been using it almost every day. As you can see I am running a bit low, but I haven’t quite decided if I want to repurchase it yet or not. I guess a trip to Sephora this weekend is in the cards for me.

  • Beyond Belief: My Secret Life Inside Scientology and My Harrowing Escape by Jenna Miscavige Hill

Beyond Belief

After watching the scientology documentary, Going Clear, on HBO last month (which scared the begeezus out of me btw), I have been reading up a lot on the former members and leaders of the Scientology church, and learning about their tumultous relationship with the organization, and all of the insane activity that takes place. I myself don’t personally associate with any sort of religion or organization (different topic for a different day!), so I’ve always been fascinated with people who can completely submit themselves to religion, cults, or things of that nature. I am about halfway through Beyond Belief right now, and while the writing kind of reads like a book report (just a continuous list of facts), the detail of what Jenna went through as a child is absolutely horrifying. Jenna is the neice of the current leader of Scientology, David Miscaviage, so you are also provided insight into his rise in power, and how this affected her family’s position in the church. My jaw has dropped multiple times while reading this book, and again, while the writing style itself isn’t very captivating, the volume of insanity recounted by Jenna is enough to keep you turning the pages.

  • Slide the City: Fort Worth

Slide The City

Registration opens today for Slide the City and I am so excited! My best friend, Stefan, and I are signing up and will sliding the city in June! Based on online reviews and photos, the event appears to be an out of control slip n slide. Any childhood memory I have regarding slip n slide is usually associate with bruised ribs, or someone forgetting to wet down a portion of slide and then coming to a screeching halt when you make contact with tarp that has been baking in the sun for six hours. Ah, memories. Slide the City encourages you to bring floatation devices or inner tubes for a comfortable experience, and I am seriously considering purchasing this float just for the occasion. I think a donut inner tube is something I need in my life.

That’s it for this week! I’ll be running in the mud for the One Ale of A Trail 5 mile tomorrow so lookout for a race recap on Monday. Have a great weekend!

Signature

One thought on “Friday Finds

Leave a Reply

