Friday Finds

It’s Friday! Oh boy, what a long week this has been. Between tax season coming to a close on Wednesday, and a crazy work schedule, I’ve been ready for today since I woke up Monday morning. I’m pretty sure the consistent theme of this blog is me anxiously awaiting Fridays, but I’m sure I was extra ready for it this week. Aside from the work week ending, I’ve got a pretty fun weekend ahead. Later tonight I’m going to a yoga workshop, and then tomorrow morning Jake and I are heading to Good Records in Dallas for Record Store Day! Ok Go will be there and I’ve never seen them live, plus they are giving away Damien Rice tickets for his show this August so I am super pumped (cross your fingers that I win!). You may remember when I went to Record Store day last year and thought I had purchased a copy of Pet Sounds, only to find that it was a weird remix album. Read the cover next time, moron Mallory.

Hopefully I don’t walk out tomorrow with a dub step version of Graceland, but I can’t promise anything. In the mean time, lets discuss things that I know I purchased correctly.

  • Nick Offerman and Megan Mullally

Nick and Megan

Last night Jake and I went to The Majestic Theater in Dallas to see Nick Offerman and Megan Mullally in their Summer Of 69: No Apostrophe tour! The show consisted of a lot of hilariously crude songs and stories about their relationship, and at one point, a fake date between Megan and an 18 year old audience member. I will say it was disheartening to see Nick without his mustache, and the show ran for probably thirty minutes longer than it needed to, they were so enjoyable to watch that I didn’t care. Actually, I cared a little bit because towards the end I was at Seabiscuit levels of needing to go to the bathroom, and I didn’t want to be rude and get up during the show, so I painfully squirmed around for the last twenty minutes. Also, where is the bathroom at The Majestic??? Does it exist?? Is it a myth? Who knows.

  • Boscia BB Cream

Boscia BB Cream

This is actually an old favorite, but recently reintroduced into my life after a long absence. As someone who hates wearing foundation (or probably never learned how to apply it properly, tbh), I am allllll about tinted moisturizers and BB creams. A makeup artist friend suggested trying out Boscia a little over a year ago after I revealed to her that I had been using the Garnier Fructis BB Cream, which is apparently 100% garbage and chemicals. Note taken! While this product is a little pricey ($38), it is by far the best BB cream I have ever used, and this in comparison to Garnier Fructis, Revlon, and Clinique’s products. It has an almost mousse like consistency, and goes on with a very light and airy feel. I would describe it as light coverage, but I am able to hide most spots and uneven marks with two applications. It’s also SPF 27, so that is an added skin bonus! While I can be finicky and not very loyal to a lot of my makeup products, I’m pretty sure I’ll be sticking with Boscia for the long haul.

  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl On The Train

Sunday afternoon I finished reading “I Wear the Black Hat: Grappling With Villains (Real and Imagined)” by Chuck Klosterman, and was in the mood start a new book right away, and was also craving something in the thriller genre. After reading a friend’s review on Facebook, I decided to start Girl on the Train. I am only a few chapters in, but this book has already proved to be a rollercoaster-bumper car hybrid of emotions. Since I’m not finished or even half way throught the book, I really don’t want to give any information out, but here’s a solid snyposis of the story if you are interested. I’m already getting a lot of Gone Girl vibes  from it, and I am loving how Hawkins is able to capture the raw turmoil that boils underneath her characters, similar to that of Gillian Flynn. So far it has been such a great read, and hopefully I can knock out the rest of the book this weekend because I really want to know what happens!

That’s all for me today! I’m off to my yoga workshop, and then probably calling it early to bed so I can get up early for a trail run and FINALLY break in my Altra’s! I hope you all have a great weekend and I’ll catch ya Monday!

Signature

3 thoughts on “Friday Finds

Leave a Reply

