Skin Care Favorites

Hello and happy Thursday! I’m actually writing this Wednesday night because tomorrow night Jake and I are going to see Nick Offerman and Megan Mullally at the Majestic Theater in Dallas! Jake and I saw Nick Offerman at House of Blues a couple of years ago when he was promoting his book, “Paddle Your Own Canoe: One Man’s Fundamentals for Delicious Living.” This time around I think he and Megan are on tour promoting their marriage because they are quite possibly the greatest husband and wife duo in the history of entertainment.

ron and tammy

Transitioning into something completely unrelated, but I thought I’d share some of my skin care favorites today! As someone who will break out for almost any reason (silver bracelets, scented lip balm, Finesse shampoo, makeup wipes, Season 4 of Arrested Development, etc), I feel like I’ve become back alley licensed dermatologist based on all of the research and trial and error experiments I’ve had to make for my skin. Last year I decided to go the “natural” route and swapped out eliminated products free of crazy chemicals for mild cleansers and oils. The result is the following:

skin care favorites

  • Night time Cleanser: Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean Face Wash + Clarisonic Mia
  • Morning Oil Cleanse: Desert Essence 100% Pure Jojoba Oil
  • Night time Moisturizer: Lily of The Desert 99% Aloe Vera Gelly
  • Day time Moisturizer: Clinique Even Better Skin Tone Correcting Lotion Broad Spectrum SPF 20

With the exception of the Clarisonic Mia, and the Clinique mositurizer (which really isn’t a life changer so I probably won’t be repurchasing), all of these products are under $10 and were found either at Whole Foods or Kroger! I’ll go ahead and address probably the weirdest item on the list, aloe vera as a moisturizer, but I love it! My skin does not work well with heavy creams, and I don’t like wearing oils at night because it can grease up my pillow case and takes forever to dry. The aloe vera gel dries in less than 30 seconds, and I really feel like it’s helped brighten up my skin tone! Plus the smell reminds me of summer, so that’s a nice little bonus.

As for my “morning oil cleanse” (So Gwyneth of me), all I do is take a quarter size amount of jojoba oil and massage it into my face, and then rinse with a warm washcloth. After rinsing and patting my face dry the oil residue is gone and I’m ready to apply my SPF moisturizer. I used to wash my face in the morning with a normal soap based cleanser, but it would often leave my face feeling tight and as if I just escaped some sort of space time continuum. I use the Desert Essence cleanser (with the Clarisonic) at night to help remove makeup, and it does a great job of stripping the nasty off my face, without making my skin feel uncomfortable. The main ingredient in the cleanser is castille soap, but is supported with several different kinds of oils, and it smells mostly tea tree oil. The scent of tea tree oil tends to remind me of the million times I got lice as a kid (I was gross, y’all), and my mom making me sit around for hours in a shower cap while my head was drenched with the oil. Now I can finally associate the smell with something positive!

Four simple steps, but they work for me! Granted, this may be subject to change because I love trying out different products, and I live for the beauty section at Whole Foods (except for their $40 BB cream. GIRL PLEASE).

Signature

One thought on “Skin Care Favorites

  1. coffeegrounded

    Not unlike yourself, I think I’ve tried just about everything. It is frustrating and expensive, especially when every other month someone is touting a new or improved cleanser.
    My personal favorite pore cleaner is no longer available, so when I deplete my stash I’ll be “on my own,” but not truly. I discovered I can substitute regular baking soda with any organic soap and still achieve the same effect of cleansing. My favorite market rep told me the secret. The only difference between the item that’s being discontinued is the fact it has a touch of lavender and an ingredient to keep the soda from clumping.
    Who knew?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

