Summer Races

Happy April 15th! As someone who works in the tax industry, and I am more than ready for tax season to be over. I had another late duty shift today, so I was able to catch a yoga class at 6 am this morning. It was the first time I had ever been to a 6 am class, and I’m pretty sure I fell asleep for a moment during my shavasana. Whoops! The class was packed, and in a room that is already set to 98.6 degrees, the added body heat of everyone else in the room made it feel well over a 100. I walked out of class looking like I had spent months traveling the Sahara desert by foot, or that scene from Vacation when Clark walks to the gas station with his pants on his head. Needless to say, I looked great.

Summer Races

Speaking of ridiculous temperatures, I am ready for summer. Spring weather in Texas is still in that weird “in between” stage where if you leave the house in the morning you’ll need to be wearing jeans and cardigan, but by noon you’d wish you had worn shorts and a tank top. While the summer heat can be ridiculous, I at least know when I get up in the morning what to wear because the weather will be consistently miserable all day. The only downside is that if I want to run, I better do it either before sunrise, or on a treadmill at the gym, because outdoor physical activity during daylight hours is a joke. Thankfully, there are plenty of themed races, and fun 5ks in the area that 1.) Have a start time of 7:30 am and 2.) Fun enough to make you forget that you might be dying. Here’s a few upcoming races I have lined up for this summer that I’m super pumped about!

  • The Vineyard Run 5k

Vineyard Run

This will be my third year doing this race, and while the course isn’t my favorite (a neighborhood with a road that hasn’t been repaved since the 70’s), the promise of a free glass of wine at the end is always nice.

  • The Bubble Run

The Bubble Run

This run is apparently The Color Run, but with foam. I have a feeling this will be insane amounts of fun and I can’t wait! Everything about it sounds like an obstacle course from Double Dare and I love it. Maybe Marc Summers can host it.

  • The Texas Ale Project 5k

The Texas Ale Project

It didn’t take much convincing Jake to sign up for this one. I don’t know what it is about guys and craft beer, but they love it. I love drinking for free (well, I guess it’s not free if I paid for the registration. Ah whatever), so it’s a win win for everyone!

  • XTERRA Rock Dallas Trail Run

Trail Run

I ran this 10k last year…in the pouring rain. As you can tell from the above photo, I did not make a clean escape. Mud and ruined shoes aside, this race was so much fun. Running trails in the rain made me feel like I was in a training montage for a movie about over coming all odds and winning a sports thing. Triumphant.

  • Keep Austin Weird 5k

photo-3

I participated in this race (it’s tagline is “the slowest race ever”) with Jake, and it probably the most fun I’ve ever had in three miles. There were obstacle courses, shots, slap the bag stations, live bands, and several people in crazy costumes. Last year we had to drive back home after we finished the course (4 hour drive. Barf), but we’re hoping we can make it a mini weekend vacation this year!

These are the races I have registered for so far, but I’m definitely on the hunt for more. I’d love to do another color run themed race this summer, and as many trail runs as I can now that I have new fancy Altra’s! I’m going to go Google upcoming races now…

Signature

One thought on “Summer Races

  1. coffeegrounded

    Not only do you make it sound and look fun, but I think you have discovered two of your lifelong passions: running and yoga.

    Just don’t forget to tag and storyline all of your adventures for us. We are greedy and need comic relief from our sedentary lifestyles. You do make it appealing. Maybe a miracle will happen and I’ll grab a pair of running shoes, And begin with quarter mile laps.

    You be zoomin’, girl! I’m proud of you!
    ❤️

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

