It’s Meal Prep Time…Again!

Hello, and happy Tuesday! I hope you slept well, because I made the mistake of watching that new Scientology documentary on HBO last night, and it scared the begeezus out of me and I think I only got a solid four hours of sleep. Despite the fact that it was truly horrifying, I definitely recommend watching it no matter what your belief system is (for the record I am not believer of Scientology, or the alien Tom Cruise). I had to watch an episode of Teen Mom afterwards just so I watch something completely mindless and calm down.  It also helped that when I woke up I received the greatest reminder in the world:

stitchfix

Hallelujah and praise John Travolta! My Stitchfix box is on it’s way! I’m hoping that if I receive it tomorrow evening I can take pictures and get a review up by Thursday. I already did a quick google search of what’s in the box (they list your items once the box has shipped), and so far I am quite impressed!

Well enough about aliens and personal stylists, as I mentioned at the end of yesterday’s post, today I’ll be sharing my new meal prep menu! I picked up a couple different items at the grocery store this weekend to try out. I was getting a little bored with my daily lunch of baked chicken and sweet potatoes and was ready to try something new for my work lunches. This week I have made the switch to turkey burgers and asparagus!

turkeyburgers

Ignore the super reject turkey patty on the far left. Things went horribly awry when I attempted to defrost the patties in the microwave. That aside, I started off by lightly seasoning the turkey burger patties with a dash of sea salt, ground pepper, and garlic powder. I cooked each patty individually (I don’t have a fry cook assembly, sorry y’all) on a frying pan with about a tablespoon of canola oil, while the asparagus baked in the oven for about 10 minutes on 170 degrees. Once everything was cooked and ready go, I packed the patties and asparagus and decided on a fruit.

mealprep2

I couldn’t choose just one, so I opted for both strawberries and a granny smith apple! I’m also trying out La Croix sparkling water to help me less like like a hot air balloon after lunch. The only downside is that cracking one open sounds exactly like opening a beer can and I’m scared everyone in my office is going to be like “Wow, it’s not even noon, Mallory.” I don’t know why their first concern would be me drinking before noon, and not that I’m drinking at work, but I guess my mind plays out fantastical situations a little differently.

My lunch turned out wonderfully, so I’m hoping my menu holds up for the rest of the week! The turkey was really flavorful, and for once in my life my cooked asparagus didn’t turn out soggy and pathetic, and I thought it really paired well with the turkey. I didn’t notice a huge difference after drinking my beer La Croix, but I’ll give it another shot. I feel like I’ve tried everything to help with the bloated beach ball feeling after I eat lunch; chamomile tea, eating a piece of ginger, Altoids, and chewing gum, but nothing really seems to make a difference. If you have any suggestions, please let me know!

Well I’m off to the gym with the hopes there’s an elliptical open for me. I hope you all enjoyed this meal prep menu idea, and I’ll catch ya tomorrow! (

*Also I’m trying out new layouts until I find one that I really like, so don’t be surprised if you refresh the page and see something new. I am horribly indecisive

One thought on “It’s Meal Prep Time…Again!

  1. coffeegrounded

    I’ve been on s binge myself, lately. I promise to repay you a twelve pack, ASAP!
    I did notice that I was getting a buzz on after half a can. Seems like they have sodium-fied that particular seltzer. I had to follow up with a 16 oz. glass of plan old tap water just to re-wet my lips. Funny, I don’t remember mineral water being sodium-boosted?

    Give me the shake down on that turkey. Is it fit to eat, as is, or did you place it between some sort of bread?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

