Sad Pizzas & Running Shoes

Hello and happy Thursday/almost Friday! This week has been rather slow for me due to an inconsistent work schedule, so I am more than ready for tomorrow to come around! Today I am working late into the evening, but thankfully was able to make it into the gym this morning (woke up too late for my yoga class. Whoops!). I got in a solid 35 minutes on the elliptical while watching the Today show. Normally I watch HGTV while I’m at the gym, but I guess today I just really wanted to utilize my irrational anger towards Matt Lauer to power through a workout. We all have our vices. Anyways, today I thought I’d share a ridiculous snack recipe with you guys, and then use your help for picking out my new running shoes!

  • The Saddest Pizza 

sad pizza

The other day after work I was seriously craving pizza, but I didn’t want to commit to the act of actually ordering a pizza, or commit to the acid reflux after eating it. I also was in a bit of a time crunch since I normally head to the gym 40 minutes to an hour after I get off work. Before we get started, I am beyond aware that this is not an ideal “pre workout snack”, but neither is a large cheese pizza so I guess I got the best of my two options. That being said, here’s what you need:

  • Saltines
  • Laughing Cow Cheese (or whatever cheese you like. Be weird and add Gouda. I don’t know your life)
  • Cherry tomatoes sliced in half

Now here’s where it gets tricky. I spread the cheese onto the saltines, and then topped it off with a cherry tomato slice.

tim-and-eric-mind-blown

Crazy, I know. It turned out being delightful and filling enough to get me through a workout at the gym. So, ha! Take that, workout snack enthusiasts! Maybe I’ll drizzle a little olive oil and add a dash of oregano? That can probably take it from “Saddest Pizza” to “Still Not Pizza”.

Now on to the fun stuff! Shoes! I received a 20% coupon from my REI rewards earlier this week and decided that it should go towards to a new pair of running shoes. I am currently rocking the Saucony Kinvara 5, and have been since September 2014. I love them, and they are definitely my favorite pair thus far, but like an idiot I went online to REI to see what lines they carried, and now I want to buy all of the shoes. Before we get started I should note that I am overpronator, and I have had some bad luck with minimalist styles. You will also quickly learn that I prefer that my shoes look like they were designed by Lisa Frank Here’s a few that I am currently debating:

Saucony Kinvara 5

My current favorite, but in a different color! I’m currently rocking the bright blue with green laces. I am a sucker for pink and mint, so these are right up my alley! Not to mention I already know that they are dependable and can get me through my longer runs. According to Saucony, these have minimal cushioning, and neutral support. Compared to the Asics Gel-Kayano 21 and Mizuno Wave Rider 16 (I refer to them as my “Wendys”) that I was running in before, I feel like my Saucony’s have way more cushioning and support and make long runs more of a breeze.

*There is apparently another version of this shoe that has a weather shield like feature and helps protect from the rain, but I rarely ever run during inclement weather, so I can do without that one.

brooks

This color scheme is everything I love and more. I have never worn a pair of Brooks, but I’ve read rave reviews, and I have always want to try them out! According to the REI website:

  • Midsoles feature BioMoGo polymer alloy foam, which provides cushioning, energy return and reduced foot fatigue; nontoxic additive helps midsoles break down in landfills

I have no idea what BioMoGo is, and it sounds like a trendy neighborhood in Brooklyn, but foot fatigue is one of my biggest issues when running, so I’m all for something that could alleviate it!

brooks glycerin

Okay I could help myself, but I found another pair of Brooks that I liked! I really love the sunset color scheme and warmer tones. I am definitely a fan of the shape of this one more that my current shoes. The heels of my Saucony Kinvara 5’s look almost Sketcher’s Shape Ups, and that is a bit of a turn-off. These also have the “BioMoGo” technology as the Ravenna 5, so these could potentially bode well for my feet too! These are available in a dark blue and mint color as well, but I am more into the pinks and purples with this shoe.

Okay, now it’s decision time. I feel like I am leaning more towards the Brooks Ravenna 5’s right now, but I still haven’t tried them on so that obviously subject to change. Please feel free to cast your votes or throw out suggestions! Have a great day, and I’ll catch you all tomorrow!

One thought on “Sad Pizzas & Running Shoes

  1. coffeegrounded

    Check out Merrell’s. They have come out with several new running shoes, everything from barefoot, minimalist to super cushioning. BTW, I love the first two pair for summer, the last pair for fall. Yeah, I know it doesn’t make sense. LOL! Actually, trying them on is the true test. Good luck!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

