How To: Deep Clean Your Makeup Brushes

howtoedit

Hello everyone, and welcome to the middle of the week! Hopefully you are having a good Wednesday so far, and if not, just keep reminding yourself “Two more days till Friday” and scream into a pillow if necessary. My agenda for today includes work, and then a yoga class at 7 pm. My legs are no longer sore from my half, so I’m excited to get back to yoga routine for the week! I have a weird late duty shift tomorrow, so I’m hoping I can also squeeze in an early morning class in before I have to head into work.

As you can tell from the title of today’s post, I am going to teach you how to clean your makeup brushes. Most of what I have learned has been borrowed from years of watching beauty gurus on YouTube, so if any part of the post starts to sound like Juicystar07, I apologize. Before YouTube (and Blair) I used to never clean my makeup brushes, and the the result would often lead to my brushes becoming too disgusting to use after a few months, and the always enjoyable and flattering, breakouts. Once I added cleaning my brushes into my weekly routine I began to notice a huge improvement in both the quality of my makeup brushes, and my skin. It was a win/win for everyone. Also, this is super simple and only takes (depending on how many brushes you need to clean) upwards of five minutes! Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Dish Soap
soapedit

Sorry about the Peter Pan shadow.

  • Olive Oil
olive oil

I’m 90% sure that those are lemons.

Start by pouring about a tablespoon of dish soap, and half a tablespoon of olive oil (a little goes a long way!) on to a paper plate, and get some warm water running in your bathroom or kitchen sink.

plate edit

I realize that is a painfully unattractive photo, but there is really no way to glamorize dish soap and olive oil on a Dixie paper plate. Sad photography aside, once you have your water running, wet the brush end (the bristles? hair? idk?), and then dab the brush twice into the dish soap, and then once into the olive oil. From there. swirl the mixture into your hand (you should see all of your makeup pigment show up. It is both gross and cool), and then rinse clean with warm water. See how simple that was? You may need a couple of tries if you use a brush to apply liquid foundation to get all of the product out, but that’s about as much trouble you’ll encounter during this process.

Once your brushes are nice and clean, lay out a clean and dry washcloth (napkin or paper towel will work just fine too), and place your brushes with the bristles on top of the washcloth. This will keep the water from loosening the adhesive on the brush, and any future hassle of makeup brush hairs falling out.

doneedit

I really stand by that tip given that the Cargo Magic Brush I have (the brush with the silver handle) has been in perfect shape for nearly five years. I should note that it will take several hours for your brushes to completely dry, so try doing this after doing your makeup in the morning before work or school, or at night. I normally do this on the weekend, or on a makeup free day. During the week I’ll do a “mini makeup brush cleanse” by wiping my brush onto a Wet Wipe or just running it under warm water to get some of the pigment out.

That’s it! See how easy that was? Simple ingredients, and an even simpler process. Feel free to share any weird tips or hacks you use for cleaning up your makeup products. I’m weirdly obsessive about making sure all of my stuff is clean, and always love learning new ways to make sure I can get the most out of my products! Hope you enjoyed this mini how-to, and have a great Wednesday!

One thought on “How To: Deep Clean Your Makeup Brushes

Leave a Reply

