Going to Bed At 9 pm: An Autobiography

If there is anything you need to know about me, it’s that I live and abide by a routine on weekdays. I like waking up and knowing exactly what I have going on, what I need to do, and I live to cross off the task in my planner. Strangely enough though I have not always been this way. My planner in high school was more a less a series of doodles, and I would often tear out the pages to demonstrate my impressive ability to construct an origami boat (which I can still do, btw). Thankfully I got it together (somewhat), and established a daily schedule. Usually my weekday goes something like this:

  • Wake up at 5:30 am
  • Wash my face
  • Go make breakfast
  • Do my makeup/hair
  • Get dressed
  • Browse my computer till about 7:15
  • Leave for work
  • Get off work at 5 pm
  • Get home, wash my face, and change into gym/yoga clothes
  • Get home from either gym or yoga and take a shower
  • Eat dinner
  • Kill time for an hour or so.
  • Go to bed

Like Ron Burgundy describing his upper body routine in Anchorman, “It’s boring, but it’s my life.”  That being said, nothing throws off my routine more than not being able to sleep. For awhile I struggled between taking forever to fall asleep, and consistently waking up in the middle of the night for no reason at all (Pro Tip: Don’t think about Paranormal Activity when you wake up in the dark at 3 am). I thought I was doing everything right. I work out regularly, I eat pretty well, and only drink caffeine in the mornings. For the past year I’ve played around with different things to help establish a better sleep routine, and I think I’ve nailed it. Some of these are a little silly, but they work for me, and if you are struggling with sleep and TSA is starting to check the bags under your eyes (cheap joke of the day), feel free to try these out!

  • Celestial Seasonings Sleepytime Tea

teatime

As you can see from this photo, I may have a slight addiction to this tea. (Also do not give me grief about the Kids Tea. I love grape, okay???) I have been a fan of Celestial Seasonings tea for a long time, and their Sleepytime teas are my absolute favorite! I’ll usually make myself a cup about an hour before bed, and enjoy it with a book. I’ve tried other teas that are aimed at promoting relaxation and sleep, and while they worked, the taste was often too bitter, and depending on the brand, the smell would turn me off as well. These teas aren’t too bitter or “herby” for me, but sometimes I’ll add a touch of vanilla extract for additional taste. Also, the Sleepytime Bear is adorable. How could you say no to a bear wearing a nightgown?

  • Kiss My Face Early to Bed Shower Gel

KMF

I stumbled upon this at Whole Foods over the summer, and I love it! I normally have to be picky with my shower/bath products because I a tricky skin allergy that likes to flare up at odd times. I tend to avoid shower gels, and I have to be a Gwyneth Paltrow Goop about things and opt for organic bars of soap, because everything else will bother my skin. Thankfully, this shower gel has not caused any problems, and it’s scent is actually really relaxing! It also lathers really well for a natural brand.

  • Spotify Sleep Playlists

Spotify

I am incapable of making a playlist that does not include “Love On Top” by Beyoncé, so I turn to Spotify for playlists for any and all occasions. Thankfully, Spotify has a whole library dedicated to playlists dedicated to relaxation and sleep. If I’m reading and don’t want to be distracted, I’ll choose a classical music based mix, and if I’m just putzing around on the internet, I’ll go for something like the list above (Calm Down), which includes my jam for life, “Harvest Moon” by Neil Young.They also have mixes that are strictly white noise, rain sounds, and whatever jungle noises help you sleep at night.

These are just a few things that I use with the hopes of being asleep by 10 pm, and staying that way till my dumb alarm goes off in the morning. If I happen upon any more products or practices, I’ll be sure to share! Have a great Thursday (and get some sleep)!


One thought on “Going to Bed At 9 pm: An Autobiography

  1. coffeegrounded

    I’m going to steal a cup of your grape tea. That sounds delicious!

    Someday I would love a tutoring session on Spotify. The relaxing sound of white noise, waves or rain falling would be a nice way to lull myself to sleep or into meditation.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

