It’s Meal Prep Time!

Hello, and happy St. Patrick’s Day! I hope you remembered to wear green, and if you didn’t, may your entire office point it out to you for the rest of your day. Today I’m wearing a white tee with green stripes, paired with a dark teal cardigan (as seen here). I also threw in some gold earrings for “pot of gold”, and to pay homage to one of the greatest Youtube videos of all time. I love this holiday.

As I mentioned at the end of yesterday’s post, today I will be sharing my weekly meal prep with you guys! I have been meal prepping my lunches for work for about a month now, and I am really enjoying the process. The greater joy comes from not having to worry about packing a lunch the night before, which when I normally remember to do so around or 8-9 pm, my lunch ends up being an uninspired collection of  a zip lock bag of chips and an apple. As you can imagine, I quickly got tired (and hungry) of this routine, and after seeing several ideas on Pinterest, I thought I’d give it a shot! I’ve now established grocery and meal prep time into my Sunday routine, as well as a standard menu I tend to follow.

First I start off by marinating chicken breasts in Italian style dressing, sea salt, black pepper, and a little garlic.

marinate

Then, while I preheat the oven, I’ll get to work on choosing a veggie for the week. This week brussel sprouts won! This is mainly due to the fact that I forgot to shop for veggies, and I found a frozen bag in the back of the freezer. I seasoned mine with olive oil, sea salt, black pepper, garlic powder, and for reasons unknown, I thought it would be cool to toss in tiny cut up pieces of apple.

sprouts

I let that simmer on medium heat for about ten minutes, and during that time (I’m real good at multi-tasking, y’all), I cut up some strawberries and apples, and dashed some cinnamon for extra flavor.

fruit

The cinnamon will make your fruit look as if you just unearthed these pieces from the ground, but they will taste good I promise.

Once I place the chicken breasts in the oven (usually for about 35 minutes), I’ll package my fruit and veggies for the week and refrigerate. That takes less that five minutes, so I’m left with a half hour to kill while the chicken bakes. I usually use this half hour to make myself dinner for the evening, or practice yoga in the kitchen, which usually ends with my clothing snagging on a drawer pull, and me tumbling into the kitchen counter and on to the floor. Such grace.

Now the particular Italian dressing I used this week, while tasty, is a little on the…chunky side? It’s organic so I’ll cut it some slack, but it leaves my chicken looking like it was marinated with tree bark.

unnamed

This is my finished result. It’s not beautiful, but it is delicious and healthy, so I sort of win. Either way, I am sold on meal prepping as it saves me a ton of time, and I make healthier choices with my lunches each week. I’m hoping to change up the menu this coming week (a new protein perhaps?) so I’ll be sure to include any news on that if I find a recipe worth sharing!

Thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoy your St. Patrick’s Day! images


One thought on “It’s Meal Prep Time!

  1. coffeegrounded

    Go salmon! Or shrimp with olive oil/ Parmesan/parsley pasta. Green grapes or a couple baby tangelos.

    You’re a good cook. You’ll find a few ideas in your Central Market cookbook, I bet!

    Happy Shamrock Day to you! Go green, or hide.🍀

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

