Monday Musings ft. Cinderella and Race Recap!

Happy Monday everyone! I hope you all had an enjoyable weekend, whether it had been filled with green beer, or parked in front of Netflix. I had an awesome weekend and I’m ready to recap it. so let’s start with Friday!

  • Bippity Boppity Boo

Cinderella_2015_official_poster

Jake and I went to Alamo Drafthouse to to see the new live action Cinderella, and I loved it! The movie was absolutely beautiful, and I really can’t even think of a single thing to complain about it (for once in my life)! Cate Blanchett was wonderful as always, and Lily James, who I was unfamiliar with prior to this movie, did an amazing job as Cinderella! If you are apprehensive about seeing this out of fear that it won’t do the animated feature (or whichever adaption you love the most) won’t do it justice, I promise this won’t be a let down! Now if your favorite adaption is the original story in which the step sisters cut off parts of their feet to fit into the glass slipper, then yes, you will be disappointed.

I loved being able to see this at Alamo Drafthouse because we share the biggest pet peeve, people who talk or text during movies. If you are bothered by someone who is ruining the experience for you, you can write your complaint on a piece of a paper, and your waiter (it is a dine in theater) will collect your complaint, warn the annoying person, and if they act up again, said person will have to leave the theater without a refund. I love this rule more than anything, and I wish every movie theater adhered to this! Jake and I once went and saw Anchorman 2 and sat behind a bunch of high school kids who talked the entire time, and one kid even pulled out his phone and took an Instagram video of the movie! I hope he got zero likes on that post!

What I was even more impressed with is that Alamo had even provided a Cinderella themed menu, which included: Gus Gus’ Cheese Plate, The Pumpkin Carriage Shake, The Glass Slipper, Cinderella’s Ballroom Dress, and Prince Charming.

MENU

I tried The Glass Slipper, and Cinderella’s Ballroom dress, and they were both pretty good! Both drinks had a light blue hue which I loved, but to be honest I just loved the themed names! You all know how I feel about themes (see: Stridebox review).

  • Irish You Wouldn’t

DDG

Saturday morning my dad and I participated in the Dash Down Greenville 5k for the third year in a row! This 5k takes place before the big St. Patrick’s Day parade in Dallas, and it is filled with crazy costumes, and people three sheets to the wind before 9 am. This year I didn’t get an honorary free Guinness at the end because the line would have easily been a half hour wait. Also, I really don’t even like Guinness so I don’t think a two second wait would have enticed me either.

The race was a lot of fun, and I always enjoy the crazy spectators they have on the sidelines. I also got to try out my new CW-X leggings too!

Capture

I wouldn’t say that these leggings are life changing, and to be honest they kind of made my legs feel a bit clunky. I’ll give them another shot, but as of right now I’d have to give them a 6/10. I love the swirly and colorful design on the leggings, so that’s a plus I suppose? I was hoping to wear these for my half marathon next weekend, but I may just stick with my trusty New Balance leggings instead.

Well, I’m off to the gym for what I hope will a successful treadmill run! Tomorrow I’ll be sharing my weekly meal prep for my work lunches. Have a great day!


One thought on “Monday Musings ft. Cinderella and Race Recap!

  1. coffeegrounded

    Colorful Monday. That drink menu is too cute. (I probably would have had those blue drinks, too, simply to set the mood.)

    The pants are cute, but I wouldn’t wear them for 13.5 miles unless they felt super wonderful to begin with.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

