Friday Finds

Happy Friday the 13th! Consider your day a success if you managed to avoid any psychotic lake dwelling serial killers, or their mom (terrible Jason Voorheese joke). I am especially excited for today because Jake and I are going to Alamo Drafthouse to see the new Cinderella! I doubt he is excited at all, but I sure am! The first time I saw the trailer I almost cried and Jake laughed at me for like fifteen minutes, but I think it looks amazing! I wasn’t that big of a Cinderella fan as a kid (it was is my sister’s world though), I was way more into Lion King, but this adaption looks absolutely beautiful, plus Cate Blanchett is playing the evil step-mother so I am sold. She could actually be playing Gus Gus and I’d still see it and campaign for an Oscar. Saturday morning I’ll be running the Dash Down Greenville 5k with my dad! It’s my third year doing this 5k and they are always a lot of fun. The race starts at 8 am, but everyone attending the St. Patrick’s Day Parade is already good and toasted and provide a lot of sideline entertainment!

Hopefully I can do a movie review and race recap next Monday or Tuesday, but in the mean time here are some things I have enjoyed for the past week!

  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt 

10906089_902723309761204_2017014842107903648_n

I don’t know what it is about Netflix original programming, but they seem to nail it every time (House of Cards, Orange is The New Black, etc). Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt comes to you from the creatives geniuses that are Tina Fey and Robert Carlock, and a bulk of the 30 Rock writing team. It follows character Kimmy Schmidt, played by the brilliant Ellie Kemper, who after being held captive with an underground (literally) religious cult for fifteen years, is set free and embarks on a new life in New York City. Kimmy ultimately finds friends with the likes of Broadway bound Titus, played by new favorite person Tituss Burgess, and a delusional landlord, Lillian, played by legend Carol Kane. Kimmy finds a job as a nanny to Jane Krakowski’s character Jaqueline, who is essentially the same as her character of that of Jenna Maroney on 30 Rock, and I love it. Aside from expert writing and performances, what I especially love about this show is that is all about the empowerment of women. Normally I feel like saying “empowerment of women” automatically generates this kind of response from people,

971

which is dumb, because why not tell girls that they can do anything and go for their goals? Upon finding her independence in New York City, Kimmy is met with a lot of “Well why even try to be better?” or “Play the victim card. It’s easier!”, but pushes those exhausted examples aside and sets off to make the most of her new opportunities in the city. (Spoilers ahead???) Towards the end of the first season you find Kimmy striving to earn her GED (Kimmy was kidnapped and placed in the cult as a pre-teen), and not so much as earn it, but taking control of her education and demanding the most out of her professor. Her priority isn’t marriage, or even multi-million dollar successes, she just wants to be the best that she can be.

Positive messages aside, this show is STUPIDLY funny. You can expect to find the same spectrum of hilarious subtleties (Titus wearing a jersey with “SPORTS” printed on the front an attempt to identify with straight men), to ridiculous on going jokes (Kimmy and her friend Dong learning each other’s names), that you would with 30 Rock. Overall this show is superb, and I can hardly wait another year for season two to come out!

  • Invincible by Kelly Clarkson

unnamed

One of my pretend BFFs, Kelly Clarkson, released a new album this month and I am loving it. This song has become my new favorite song to for the gym and running, and definitely gives me the boost I need when I’m getting bored on the treadmill. The message behind it is pretty similar to Katy Perry’s “Roar”, basically “Remember that time you were a moron and told me I couldn’t do anything? Well look at me now, $^#&*@!” I think we can all agree that messages such as these are the best for getting through or workout, or cleaning, or getting ready, or maybe eating breakfast. Okay these songs are perfect for any occasion. I also probably just love this song because Kelly Clarkson can do no wrong in my eyes, and she is like the Kate Middleton of north Texas.

  • Fate Jeromy Striped Sweater from Stitchfix

sweater

This sweater came in my first Stitchfix box last month, and while I’ve worn a couple of times already, I paired it with black flats and straight fit jeans (American Eagle) this morning and just really loved the look! I am sucker for stripes, and anything that can be paired with jeans, so this is an A+ in my book. While this sweater is light and extremely comfortable, my only complaint with it is that the black thread can pull easily. Thankfully my mom was able to repair it, but I am super careful with maintaining it. If you guys have any suggestions on how to machine wash this kind of sweater in particular that would be great. I was thinking of washing it in the kind of mesh bag used for lingerie and then hang drying it? We’ll see!

That’s all for this week! I hope you guys have a great weekend, and I’ll see ya Monday!


One thought on “Friday Finds

  1. coffeegrounded

    Enjoy your weekend. This evenings event sounds fantastic. What a sweet treat; your sister is going to be green with envy when she learns you saw Cinderella

    Good luck on your run!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

