I Want to Go to Edgefest?

As you can tell from the title of this post, I am clearly in the midst of a personal crisis. If you are unfamiliar with Edgefest, or the 2002-2009 scene/emo movement that plagued most middle schools and high schools, let me explain why as a person in their mid twenties I am scared of going to Edgefest.

Edgefest is an annual music festival (don’t think Coachella, because it’s NOT), that is put together by the alternative rock radio station 102.1 The Edge. According to Wikipedia the concert has something to with Canada Day, but I’ve only ever known it as were the cool alternative kids who probably worked a summer at Hot Topic went to be amongst their people, and as you can see from this ultra flattering high school photo, I was not one of the cool alternative kids.

Capture

Once I got to high school the emo and scene music/fashion/haircuts/attitude (“You don’t understand me”) became extremely popular, and try as I might, I could just not get into it. Was I listening to a lot of pop punk playlists on Myspace? More than I should have, to be honest. Did I shop at Hot Topic? Yes, but they’re t-shirt sizing is weird and I once had a Queen shirt that said Adult medium, but fit more like a Youth XS. Did I have the haircut? No, my mom wouldn’t let me get the haircut with the bangs that covered 3/4 of my face, but one time I did do this without asking.

Capture

(As you can imagine, this went over GREAT at home!)

Needless to say, I could not fully commit to what the emo/scene world demanded of me, so I continued onward in my quest to be the only high school girl who would aggressively accost unwilling friends about which Weekend Update anchor they liked the most, whilst harboring a secret a crush on Pete Wentz (but honestly who didn’t at the time??).

Once I graduated high school and went off to college, it seemed as if the emo/scene movement had pretty much dissipated, and we had all moved on to auto-tuned anthems for functioning alcoholics (Just Dance, Tik Tok, Blame It…etc). I’m not sure what sort of bands passed through during that time (a quick google search yielded the results of Bear Hands, which I am now kind of upset about missing), but I was no longer interested at that point. That was until I came across the 2015 Edgefest lineup and I nearly fell out of my chair.

  • Modest Mouse
  • The Offspring
  • GirlTalk
  • Andrew McMahon
  • The Kooks

and then…

  • Death Cab for Cutie

What is this? It’s like Edgefest knew their old demographic grew up and knew exactly what we wanted, and by we I mean me. I’m finally cool enough (no I’m not) to go! I am extremely impressed with this lineup, but I did throw out the idea to Jake that it would be super cool if they had a “Throw Back Edgefest” where they rustled up previous lineups and forced them to play together. I would pay good some money to see Paramore, Panic! (you’ll always have the exclamation to me, Brendon Urie) At The Disco,  and Gym Class Heroes perform together. They could call it “Edgefest 2007”. Brilliant.

I haven’t purchased my tickets yet, but that is definitely on the agenda for this week. I also learned the other day that Dashboard Confessional and Third Eye Blind are touring together this summer, and you KNOW I am going to that. Can’t pass up that kind of nostalgia!

That’s it for me today! Have a great Wednesday!

*For an added bonus, enjoy this Spotify playlist I found that encapsulates everything that was great about that angry phase you went through in 2006.


Leave a Reply

