Monday Musings ft. Chocolate Chia Banana Coin Recipe!

Hello there and happy Monday! After a brief glimpse of the sun this weekend, our weather has resumed to being cold and rainy, but thankfully it doesn’t appear that any snow or ice is on tap for this week. I hope you all had a good weekend! As I mentioned on Friday, Jake and I went to see Cold War Kids at House of Blues, and aside from me developing a raging headache 15 minutes into the show, it was overall a great show!

CWKedited

cwk2editedOne of my favorite things about attending a concert is the people watching. You tend see the usual crowds of dude bros, weird hip teens who all look like Lorde, the dad’s who are chaperoning the hip teens, and the resident drunk guy/girl who is ruining it for everybody. Jake and I had the pleasure of standing behind a couple (who might have been French??) who made out most of, if not all of the show. I guess indie rock just really does it for them. There was also one girl who might have mistaken the show for a rap video and proceeded to grind on an unwilling friend for several songs. I however was slumped in a corner with my head in my hands for minutes at a time thanks to my headache, so I’m sure some people thought I was in some sort of emotional distress. Oh well!

Saturday was beautiful and sunny all day and I was able to make it out for a short run outside, followed up by watching the ENTIRE first season of Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (will discuss later this week in Friday Finds), and then went to my yoga workshop which ended up being a lot of fun (I was nervous given that an was an extra half hour longer than the normal classes). After returning home, Jake and I then attempted to watch an episode House of Cards, but I promptly fell asleep ten minutes into the episode like a champ.

Sunday was spent up at my Grandparent’s farm for lunch, where I spent the afternoon coloring and playing hide seek with my younger cousins. coloring

I quickly learned that my coloring game is still on point, while my hide and seek is tragically not, given that one point I resorted to hiding behind a bathroom door. How inventive, Mallory!

Sunday night I made my lunches for the week (italian baked chicken, butternut squash for veggies, and orange slices and blackberries for fruit), but after meal prepping I was craving some chocolate so invented what I can only call Chocolate Chia Banana Coins. Obviously still working on a name.

bananaedit

It was super simple to make, and ended up being super delicious as well! Here’s what I did:

  • Cut up banana into small slices.
  • Melted a handful of dark chocolate chips.
  • Dolloped melted chocolate onto banana slices.
  • Sprinkled chia seeds onto slices.
  • Placed in freezer for half an hour

I’ll definitely be making these again this week, and maybe trying other fruits as well. I made some with apple slices last night, but totally forgot about them in the freezer until this morning, so I placed them in the fridge with the hopes that later they will be less like biting into a brick by the time I get home from work. Whoops!

Well that’s all for this Monday! I hope you guys have a great day!


One thought on “Monday Musings ft. Chocolate Chia Banana Coin Recipe!

  1. coffeegrounded

    Busy weekend! Your natural, organic diet fuels your enthusiasm for sure.

    Your cousins probably wanted to take you home with them. I know their mom enjoyed having you entertain them.

    Save an apple slice for me!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

