Weekend Recap

Ah yes, we have stumbled upon another Monday. Lucky us. I hope yours has been treating you well so far. I failed to pack enough for lunch today, and spent the latter half of work like a Sim with a low mood meter, which is basically like grumpy human in real life, but with more enthusiastic hand gestures. That aside, I had a pretty successful weekend worth sharing, so let’s break it down bullet list style, shall we?

  • Friday

After work Jake and I ran a few errands, one of which included getting eye drops for his sister’s newly half blind dog, Deacon. Poor lil guy is adjusting to life with one functioning eye, but I’ve been quick to tell him that Sammy Davis Jr. went through life with a glass eye, and he did just fine, if not great! I’m not sure if Deacon knows who Sammy Davis Jr is, seeing as how that he is a golden retriever, and I don’t think they are necessarily known for being pop culture or Rat Pack enthusiasts. Anyways, once errands were done, we made our way to Macaroni Grill for dinner, for one reason and one reason only.

TURN DOWN FOR YWHAT

TURN DOWN FOR YWHAT

Jake is not a wine drinker, but he was kind enough to let me enjoy the special while he enjoyed his usual Jack & Coke (also every time he orders this, no matter where we go, it always unreasonably strong. Someone wants my boyfriend drunk). I tried out the Banfi Le Rime pinot grigio, and it was delightful! I’m going to try and go again soon with my best friend Lindsey. Although any time we go out to eat, we usually end up hanging out and talking at the restaurant for 3-4 hours, so hopefully Macaroni Grill has enough wine on hand that night.

After dinner Jake and I went and saw 22 Jump Street, and I hate to say this, but I felt a little “meh” about it. Like most sequels, it’s hard to live up to the first, and while I enjoyed it, it just wasn’t as funny, and as Jake pointed out, was very “meta” at times. I’m almost afraid to say this, but sometimes I feel like I am the only girl in the world who is not under the Channing Tatum spell. There were several obligatory shirtless Channing scenes, and I was just like, “Can we just have more Jonah Hill one liners instead?” I guess Bowflex ad dudes just don’t do it for me. Fun fact to share at the dinner table though, my sister and I both graduated from the same high school as Channing Tatum’s wife, Jenna Dewan. I think my sister and her were there at the same time, but I’m not sure if any interaction transpired between them. Meg, feel free to chime in at any time.

  • Saturday

Good lord, Saturday. That was the day to end all errands.

  1. Returned the bikini bottoms I ordered from Victoria’s Secret online. I looked like an extra from the “Hot In Herre” video.
  2. Find a new white dress and brown sandals (Thanks, Gap!)
  3. Go to Target to print off photos and buy frames.
  4. Target’s photo machine was broken. Left with frames.
  5. Went to Walmart to print off photos.
  6. Home Depot so Jake could buy bro toys (tools)
  7. Started on the giant Jenga set (more on this later)
  8. Try to finish up Orange is The New Black (3 episodes left!!!)

Needless to say, it was a busy day. For reference, the pictures and frames were part of my Father’s Day gifts to my dad and Grandpa. I printed off this photo

We're the three best friends that anyone could have!

We’re the three best friends that anyone could have!

and had one framed for my dad, and another for Grandpa. They both loved it, although Grandpa was quite concerned that the “old man in the middle” was ruining the photo. The only photo bombing I see is the dog. Thanks, Hannah!

  • Sunday

After the Father’s Day festivities at my grandparent’s home, I hurried to get ready for an evening with Jake and his family seeing James Taylor live in concert!

I really suppressed the urge to request "Mockingbird"

I really suppressed the urge to request “Mockingbird”

Definitely one of the best concerts I have seen in awhile, if not ever! Music aside, everything about the concert spoke to me. The entire audience was 65+ years old, cushioned seats, and (that I’m aware of) no one lit up during the show. Going to concerts and being surrounded by high as a kite hipsters, while having to stand up for 2 1/2 hours isn’t always my cup of tea. However, I’m sure I’ll be three sheets to wind when I see Jay-Z and Beyonce next month, so I guess I can’t really complain.

The concert ran for a little two hours, two sets sandwiched between a 20 minute intermission. James made sure to play all of the hits, peppered with a few Carole King classics, and a few new tunes as well. In between songs he’d crack jokes, riff back and forth between audience members, and at one point went into a very elaborate and involved blues number that while musically, was spectacular, lyrically was nothing but gibberish and John Mayer faces. At the end of his show he brought out his (what looked like preteen age) son (way to still be fertile as hell, JT) to sing back up vocals with him and it was adorable. All in all, it was a great evening, and a wonderful concert.

Well that was my weekend, kids! Hope you had a good one as well, and I’ll see you Wednesday for some more Dumb Summer Bucket List (for real this time, I promise)!.

 

3 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. megankh0502

    I don’t know Jenna. Just IMDB’d her and it says she was born in 1980 so she’s a lot older than me 😉

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

