Saturday ✓

Happy Monday everyone! I hope your week is off to a good start. My idiot cat woke me up at 4:45 this morning, and this humidity is giving me 1970’s Diana Ross hair, so I’m doing great. That being said, I did have a pretty good weekend. I went to bed at 9 pm on Friday, and I had already taken a nap that day, so if you’re looking for someone to party with, please look elsewhere. Saturday I had a half day at work, and then I headed out to Dallas with Jake to meet up with some friends for National Record Store Day! My friend J.D. invited me out to Good Records, where they were having local bands playing all day, plus all the beer you could (responsibly) drink for $5. Naturally, I was in. Strangely enough, I actually went through a phase in high school where I collected records. Did I have a record player? No. Did I have an Air Supply album hanging up in my room? Yes, yes I did. I don’t know where that puts me on the vinyl collector’s spectrum, but I’m assuming it does not make me very cool. My youthful moronic tendencies aside, National Record Store is the real deal! According to recordstoreday.com:

Record Store Day was conceived in 2007 at a gathering of independent record store owners and employees as a way to celebrate and spread the word about the unique culture surrounding nearly 1000 independently owned record stores in the US and thousands of similar stores internationally.

The only places I’ve ever really happened upon vinyls were secondhand bookstores or thrift stores, so venturing into an actual store was especially exciting. For this occasion, Good Records converted their parking lot into a makeshift beer garden (two bearded dudes with a keg) and a couple of food trucks. Thankfully, we had a brief window of excellent weather this weekend, and it just so happened to take place that afternoon, which was fantastic for standing outside getting mildly drunk with friends.

I'm the dummy with the matching purse and beer. The lanky goof is my bff, Stefan.

I’m the dummy with the matching purse and beer. The lanky goof is my bff, Stefan.

 

My nautical confidant, JD.

My nautical confidant, JD.

The inside of Good Records. Really cool place. They might be 4th of July enthusiasts.

The inside of Good Records. Really cool place. They might be 4th of July enthusiasts.

We stayed listened to a couple of acts, and browsed the selection. The inside was crawling with vinyl enthusiasts, fedoras, and triangle tattooed youths. Jake bought an XX and Coheed and Cambria album, while I made out like a bandit with two of my favorite albums of all time.

CECILIAAAAA

CECILIAAAAA

Caroline, no this album ruins me I can't.

Caroline, no this album ruins me I can’t.

I’m thinking this go around I’ll actually invest in a record player so I actually enjoy these, and maybe some Air Supply. However, this would not be an issue had my dad not carelessly sold his record player and albums in a garage sale when I was a kid. I remember leaving the garage sale to go to a friends house (I Bye Felicia’d my family pretty hard) and asking him to save those records for me. Always thinking of me, my dad, who had a box containing the White album and other musical treasures, told a customer, “yeah, just take it.” Shout out to my dad, everybody.

Anyways, that was my super hip weekend! I’ll see you guys on Wednesday for another IWTGTTW post!

Leave a Reply

