Oops/Friday Finds.

Okay okay okay, I know what this looks like. It looks like I forgot about the blog again, but I promise you that this time around it is not the case! Not to make excuses, but the past week has been a continuous punch in the face, which ultimately crescendoed with a solid kick to the gut with some bad news I received on Friday. I had actually planned to start a new series specifically geared towards Friday posts, but I had to put that on the back burner, and then I figured, Sunday! I’ll write on Sunday! But wouldn’t you know it, I got food poisoning and ended up spending my evening in the bathroom like a champion. So, it’s now Monday. I stayed home from work today due to my poor stomach, which currently feels about as strong as wet newspaper. However, I really would like to kick off what I had meant to start on Friday, post here and there along the week, and then continue the theme again on Friday. That being said, let me introduce you to Friday Finds!

Okay, I’d like Friday Finds to be a little roundup of favorites and whatnots that I’ve discovered along the week. Think of it as like one of those “Favorites” videos you see beauty gurus post on Youtube all the time, but less hawking of high end makeup products that no one can actually afford. I’ll post my favorites from this past week, and continue with the current week’s favorite this coming Friday!

  • Tazo – Apricot Vanilla Creme Tea
Fancy tea, for exceptionally fancy people (me).

Fancy tea, for exceptionally fancy people (me).

I discovered this tea while visiting my sister in California, and it quickly became my new favorite! I was expecting the flavors to be heavy, and a bit too much, but I found it to be perfectly light and maintained a nice blend of fruitiness, with the warmth of vanilla. I could even see making this as iced tea in the summer. If I was Oprah this would definitely be in my favorite things. LOOK UNDER YOUR CHAIRS, Y’ALL.

  • Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter
Shut up, Nutella!

Shut up, Nutella!

Oh my actual god. Okay, there’s Nutella, and then there’s this stuff. I tried this little sample size (found at Target) on my microwave muffin the other morning, and it was a delight. Yes, a delight. Now, I like Nutella, but I often find it can sometimes have a weird metallic taste. Is that just me? I don’t know sometimes it just tastes like chocolate and spoons and I don’t know what to make of it, but this spread by Justin’s is quite nice. The full size jar was a little pricey, but if you are going to treat yourself to anything this week, let it be this. Or a car. Whatever.

  • Green Juice
No, I did not barf into a cup.

No, I did not barf into a cup.

I am too poor for a juicer, so I often just blend selected fruits, kale, and water together and call it a day. A very chunky, and aesthetically disappointing day, but this past Friday, Jake and I ventured into a new juice bar nearby called Pure Health Lounge in Southlake. Jake, an avid supporter of the anti-health and trying new things movement, was adamant about not even trying a sip of my green juice concoction, but I really enjoyed it! This one consisted of: kale, spinach, cucumber and celery. It primarily tasted of cucumber and celery, so I found it had a really light and refreshing taste! My dad and I went for lunch there following day and both enjoyed turkey sandwiches (also delicious) and I tried their “Energy Booster”, which consisted of carrots and parsley.

Again, not barf.

Again, not barf.

I’m already a big fan of carrot juice, and this one was nicely done! I will definitely be returning and hopefully, just hopefully, will convince Jake to try something. 

That’s all for this week’s Friday Finds. Sorry they were all food and drink related. I watched a couple new movies and I’m in the midst of a couple of good books right now, so look for non-food finds later this week!

Leave a Reply

