West Coast Best Coast – Pt. II

Welcome back to another installment of ‘West Coast Best Coast’, where I recap my recent trip to California with text and pictures, much like a fourth grade book report.

Yesterday I covered the “outdoor” portion of trip. Feel free to scroll down to look at the magnificent landscapes captured on my state of the art lens, iOS 7 I believe it’s called. Today I’ll fill you in on some other happenings that occurred while I was in California.

So my sister and her husband recently moved into a beautiful new house and were kind enough to throw a super cool house warming party while my family was visiting. The night before, my mom, my sister, and I prepared fruit kabobs, and another kabob arrangement featuring: salami, black olives, cherry tomatoes, pepperoncini, and mozzarella cheese. How we were able to put these together without eating all of the individual ingredients was both alarming and impressive.

IMG_2012

My mom also prepared a batch of beef and turkey chili that ended up being a huge hit. The party began around 2 pm the next day, and ran into around 11 pm. This is what most people call a “success”. My sister, who works at a vineyard/tasting room, had a stellar wine collection set out (I know absolutely nothing about wine, but I was impressed!), as well as some craft beer for the hipsters.

My brother-in-law (who moonlights as Nick Offerman) made this table for my sister!

My brother-in-law (who moonlights as Nick Offerman) made this table for my sister!IMG_2013

There was a bonfire out in the back, and guests chatting it up both inside the house and outside (where all of the booze was, appropriately placed for guests who wanted to sit by a giant open flame). I got to meet a lot of sister’s friends and coworkers, which was really cool. Many of them shared stories of what a terrifying and dominating presence she can be in their life – just kidding they love her. Strangely enough I ended up in a political conversation. Thank god I just finished House of Cards so I could half way know what I was talking about.

The next night my sister cooked an awesome meal (no photos, I ate it all…the food, not the photos) for my brother-in-law’s family. His family is super cool and definitely more fun than my family. Is that mean? Probably. I mean, my family is cool, but my dad goes to bed at 7 pm, and I’m still teaching my mom how to use her iPhone after nearly two years of use, so I think you understand where I’m coming from.

Well, that’s all for today folks. Join me tomorrow where I cover everything else I was too lazy to include this post because it is currently 12:30 am here and I oops wouldn’t you know it I have work in the morning!

 

 

Leave a Reply

